Lager and hop substitutions

Hello folks, I’m attempting to clone a local favorite and need help. The beer is a pilsner with heavy New Zealand Southern Cross hop additions.

First off, I have no experience with lagers. I don’t know what base recipe to use, Czech, Bavarian, American. The beer is light bodied and malty with a crisp dry finish, not very alcoholic (6.5-7%), but blends well with the high alpha from these tasty hops.

Second, I cannot find Southern Cross hops in small quantities. Is there a suitable substitution?

Thanks in advance for info or comments!

Rambus

It doesn’t appear to have any true substitutes. Looking at the description & comparing that to the descriptions other hops there are quite a few that may come close. Combinations might be the trick. (list below) As far as bittering goes Magnum may be your safest bet. Whatever you end up doing please let us know what your results are. Cheers!!!

Flavor/Aroma Hops:
Ahtanum
Brewer’s Gold
Cascade
Perle
Saaz
Sterling
Willamette

What’s the name of the beer?

Olde Hickory Brewery Southern Cross Pilsner

COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
A hoppy pilsner made with hops sourced from New Zealand. Malt: German Pils, Wheat Hops: Pacifica, NZ Pacific Jade, NZ Pacific Gem, and Nelson Sauvin

ABV 5.75%
IBU 60

[quote=“dobe12”]COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION
A hoppy pilsner made with hops sourced from New Zealand. Malt: German Pils, Wheat Hops: Pacifica, NZ Pacific Jade, NZ Pacific Gem, and Nelson Sauvin

ABV 5.75%
IBU 60[/quote]
Nice, amazing what one finds when one “looks” for it… All seriousness aside, thanks for making me feel stupid :oops:

[quote=“Rambus”][quote=“dobe12”]COMMERCIAL DESCRIPTION

ABV 5.75%
IBU 60[/quote]
Nice, amazing what one finds when one “looks” for it… All seriousness aside, thanks for making me feel stupid :oops: [/quote]

:lol: No problem! I was going to start building the recipe for you but I thought that would be a little condescending.