Kettle size for all grain brewing

I am new to this Homebrewing thing, and due to space constraints, and volume of output, I am sticking to small batch brewing (it is fun and I vacant keep churning out new recipes)

Ultimately I want to get into all grain brewing. What is the minimum sized pot I would need to brew, say, 2.5 gallons? (That would Most likely be my maximum batch size).

Thank you.

-J

I brewed my first few years with a 5 gallon pot and made 5 gallon recipes. I just always had to top off the wort with water to bring up the volume to 5 gallons in the fermenter. I now have an 8 gallon pot which is as big as I can go before hitting our over the range microwave. I to have space constraints as I live in an apartment with no garage or outside space. To answer your question specifically a 10 quart stock pot is as low as I would go for 2.5 gallon batches. But every quart over that would help you do full boil without boil over.
For now you should be putting all your mental energies into figuring out how to control your fermentation temperatures. Controlling the temperature that your yeast ferments at is the biggest step you can make to improving your beer in the beginning.

6 Likes

Squeegee has you covered… All I would add… A kettle double the size you’d brew… 5 gallon batch, get a 10 gallon kettle.
Sneezles61

2 Likes

I agree. I use close to a 10 gal kettle for a 5 gallon brew.

Brewing for 2.5 gallons, I assume you will be doing the strainer/muslin bag approach, or BiaB as I did for my 1 gallon batches?

1 Like

I’ve squeezed a half batch in a 4 because I had one but if you’re purchasing get a 5 not much bigger footprint

Definitely BiaB method.

You cant do a full volume 2.5 gallon in a 10qrt pot. Probably not even a 12qrt. You won’t be happy with that small of a pot especially stovetop . If you want that small of a pot I suggest smaller batch or using 2 pots and blend or top up. Depends on how much work you want.