Keep Missing Original Gravity

I am only 3 months into brewing. I just brewed my 5th extract batch and every time I am low on the OG target. I have calibrated my primary several different times with different measuring equipment.

Example: target of 1.052 OG 1.042 Actual Gravity, 1.046 target 1.04 actural and so on

Hydrometer in water only has gravity of 1.006

First two batches taste good. Am I missing something? Not a hard enough boil? Inaccurate hydrometer?

Anyone have an idea? Is this something that has been asked before and I need to go back & look through old posts?

As you are relatively new to brewing, I am assuming that you are brewing exract kits. If you are brewing whole grain, then ignore the advice below.

I am new to all of this too. 2 batches brewed. 4 kits in the fridge at home (damn 15% off kits sale).

In any event, there are a number of posts discussing how OG readings are low on extract kits. Generally, the responses indicate that if you are brewing less than full boil (that is, boiling something like 2.5 gallons and adding water to primary), the OG reading is off because it is very difficutl to get the wort and water mixed well. In other words, you end up skimming water off the top when drawing a sample. I had the same issue with my first batch.

So, the general advice is, if you follow the recipie, just use the starting OG form the recipie.

They are extract kits. I shake the beer in the carboy before I take my sample so I am not skimming water.

Thanks anyway MEP

If you’re brewing extract, it’s impossible to not be hitting the target OG unless your volumes are incorrect or you aren’t thoroughly mixing the top-off water with the wort (assuming you’re doing partial boils). Or your hydrometer is off. But the kits are spot on when brewed to directions.

+1 to shadetree. you are hitting the OG that the kit predicts (if you end with the volume the kit is made for).