Kansas Homebrew Rights - Possible Vote on Friday

The KS House is scheduled to consider a change to HB2223 tomorrow. The change would allow homebrewers to serve their beer to guests and for their beer to be judged at competitions.

A bit of press on the news in Lawrence tonight: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qNFMCiRimNU

The AHA issued an alert on this a couple days ago: http://www.homebrewersassociation.org/r … mebrewers/.

For anyone keeping score, the bill passed a verbal vote today and will go for a formal House vote on Monday.

Good deal. :cheers:

We had a similar situation here (OR). Comps. have been held for years, even at the state fair.
Someone realized it was illegal and the law was changed rather quickly.

Denny was instrumental in getting the word out about the pending legislation.

Our lobbyist, Phil Bradley, reports that Sub HB 2223 should pass the house on Monday without issue as long as there are no “poision pill” amendments added to it. There could be some difficulty getting it through the Senate Federal & State Affairs committee. I would encourage all KS residents to contact each of the members of that committee and urge them to pass our bill out of their committee. Here is the link to the Senate committee. http://www.kslegislature.org/li/b2013_1 … _fed_st_1/

As expected, passed the house.

Sub HB2223, AN ACT concerning alcoholic beverages; relating to homemade fermented beverages; amending K.S.A. 2012 Supp. 41-102 and 41-104 and repealing the existing sections, was considered on final action.
On roll call, the vote was: Yeas 111; Nays 7; Present but not voting: 0; Absent or not voting: 6.
Yeas: Alcala, Alford, Anthimides, Ballard, Barker, Becker, Boldra, Bollier, Bradford, Bridges, Bruchman, Brunk, Burroughs, Couture-Lovelady, Campbell, Carlin, Carlson, Carmichael, Carpenter, Cassidy, Christmann, Claeys, Clayton, Concannon, Corbet, Crum, E. Davis, P. Davis, DeGraaf, Dierks, Doll, Dove, Edmonds, Esau, Estes, Ewy, Finch, Finney, Gandhi, Garber, Goico, Gonzalez, Grosserode, Hawkins, Hedke, Henderson, Henry, Hibbard, Highland, Hildabrand, Hill, Hineman, Hoffman, Houser, Houston, Howell, Hutton, Jennings, Johnson, Jones, Kelley, Kelly, Kinzer, Kleeb, Lane, Lunn, Lusk, Lusker, Macheers, McPherson, Meier, Meigs, Menghini, Merrick, Moxley, O’Brien, Osterman, Perry, Petty, Powell, Proehl, Read, Rhoades, Rooker, Rothlisberg, Rubin, Ruiz, Ryckman Jr., Ryckman Sr., Sawyer, Schroeder, Schwab, Schwartz, Seiwert, Sloan, Sloop, Suellentrop, Sutton, Swanson, Thompson, Tietze, Todd, Trimmer, Vickrey, Victors, Ward, Waymaster, Weigel, Whipple, Wilson, Wolfe Moore.
Nays: Edwards, Frownfelter, Kahrs, Kiegerl, Mast, Pauls, Peck.
Present but not voting: None.
Absent or not voting: Huebert, Kuether, Peterson, Phillips, Thimesch, Winn.
The substitute bill passed.