IPA fermentation temp

Hello,
This seems like a common question here, but any advice on my specific situation is welcomed.

I brewed the NB Chinook IPA kit this weekend and used Wyeast 1217 West Coast IPA. I brewed on Sunday and Monday morning it was gassing like crazy. Tuesday it had already stopped. I pitched the yeast at 72F. It is sitting at 70F right now. The OG was 1.052.

Is that to warm for this style of beer and yeast?
Should I try to bring down the temp? If so, how in an inexpensive manner?

:cheers:

It’s too late now to worry about ferm temps as the bulk of fermentation is complete. 70* AMBIENT is a little high and will likely cause off flavors. Next time try to keep temps in mid 60* using a swamp cooler or ferm chamber.

This is unfortunate. The instructions with the kit say to pitch yeast under 78F so I thought 72F would work. When you say off flavors, can you explain what that means? I’m a newbie and trying to figure my way through all of this. Is there any way to salvage this batch? When do you recommend I transfer to the secondary?

Thanks!

[quote=“mdweil”] When you say off flavors, can you explain what that means?

The most likely is fusel alcohol, which has a strong burning sensation when drank (like liquor). Warmer temps also causes the yeast to produce esters, which at times can be wanted in beers. As yeast ferments it produces heat. So, if your ambient ferm temp is 70*, likely your beer was actually fermenting at 75*.

Is there any way to salvage this batch?
The off flavors are already there. However, they can age out given enough time. Fusels rarely age out IME. I’m sure your beer will be fine. Is it the best you could make? Prob not but we all have to learn. Also, in the end your beer wasn’t THAT warm so likely the off flavors won’t be overwhelming.

When do you recommend I transfer to the secondary?