Hydrometer v/s refractometer

When I started brewing, I purchased a hydrometer to measure my brews OG and FG. The hydrometer has worked well, however, I do find it difficult to read and I never cared for how much wort I wasted when taking measurements. Well, I got a 25 dollar gift card for Christmas and decided to buy a refractometer. The first time I used it was to check the FG of one of my brews. The reading was way off. I had no idea at that time that a refractometer was unreliable for checking FG. With that said, what is the preferred tool of long time brewers for measuring OG and FG? Is there a way to take precise measurements of my FG since the refractometer will not do the job? Should I quit worrying so much about my FG, just give it time, and go drink a beer?

I don’t own a refractometer so can’t attest to it’s accuracy but this page supposedly will correctly compensate for alcohol present in your FG reading using a refractometer:

http://seanterrill.com/2012/01/06/refra ... alculator/

Its not that its unreliable, it just needs to be adjusted when it is reading a solution with alcohol in it. Still works great.

I will say, I rarely check FG these days. I ramp up my fermentation temp on just about all beers (ales and lagers), and I can usually taste when they are done. That being said, I typically work with 2-3 yeasts at most, and if I am brewing something with a yeast I am not used to (such as a lager yeast, san fran lager, or some belgian strains for example), I will definitely take a few gravity readings after I THINK fermentation has completed.

I always check with a refractometer. Broke my hydro a few years back and never bought a new one.