How Many Ounces (of hops) in an IPA

I’ve been brewing for ~5 years now and believe it or not, I’m just starting to get into IPAs. IPAs seem to have missed my neck of the woods (except in homebrew circles) and I hadn’t had enough decent examples to see the point until I really made a point to buy some on trips to New England.

(and on my last trip I REALLY MADE A POINT TO BUY SOME).

Anyhoo, thanks to a couple of homebrewer friends who are real IPA appreciators, I’ve started trying my hand at them, and each time I’ve been upping the hops load. I think there’s a point where more bittering becomes pointless and I think most people enjoy more of the flavour and aroma hops, so my philosophy is to chuck a decent bittering addition in at 60 minutes (say, a 40 IBU baseline), and then load on more additions from 15 minutes onwards.

My last beer had 7 ounces of hops, or about $25 worth, buying in 1 ounce containers. I chucked in an ounce of Magnum at 60 minutes and the rest were at 15 min, whirlpool, and dry.

How are other people dosing their beer? I’m more interested in “favourite” IPAs, not blast your buds IPAs (I know of someone who made a 1000 IBU example, but that’s more of hop soup or pure extract as opposed to beer, IMHO).

The most I’ve used is 10 oz for five gallons. 8 oz were added in the last 15 mins, 1/2 oz every minute. Made for a lot of trub, but very drinkable.
If you’re going to brew hop forward beers, you might look into buying by the pound. Freshhops and hopsdirect are great. Much cheaper.

+1 to bulk buying - having plenty of hops on hand makes it possible to add one or two extra ounces or to double the dryhop on a whim. You also could try using a more aggressive bittering hop, like Cascade or Columbus, both of which will add a nice tongue-coating bitterness to the beer.