How many brews until

You felt you were a solid brewer.

I realize there’s shades of grey on this one. Also from reading, seems like even the most experienced are constantly learning.

Just wondering around which batch number it was easier to start seeing the forest for the trees.

I feel like I’m finally starting to get there - been brewing for over a year, 14 batches so far. Just made the switch to AG.

For me, these were the things that really helped our flavors and process:

1.) Temp Control for fermentation
2.) Sanitation (StarSan)
3.) Water (tap water didn’t work well for us)
4.) Stopped doing secondary fermentation. Too many risks for beginning brewers

I’ve been brewing on and off for 15 years and I still don’t know what I’m doing. :slight_smile:

Seriously though, there’s always more to learn. But if you get a good book like Palmer’s How To Brew, follow the advice of the many knowledgeable folks on this forum, and get a few batches under your belt, you’ll be in pretty good shape almost immediately.

If this was a hobby that you could perfect, I think people would get bored and quit doing it. I equate it to creating music or playing an instrument. Can you ever perfect that?

I would say that I jumped in feet first after about 3 batches (extract) and discovered temp control, kegging, starters etc and kept doing extracts for another 6-8 months brewing at least every other week. With extract, most brew days I would do 2 batches because it was a lot faster than brewing a single batch every week (with set up and clean up).

So after 20 batches or so, I felt I really had the “process” of brewing dialed in and wanted to wait for that before I jumped into All Grain. Took 4-5 batches of AG to get that process dialed in with the changes but then I moved and my whole work space changed and I had to start over again and it took 3-4 more before I figured it out again. Not the process, but how to make it all work in my new space.