How do you calculate recipes before brew day?

I am trying really hard to use Beersmith properly so that I can store and reproduce recipes and so that I can feel fairly comfortable approaching different beer styles with reasonable results the first time. I brewed my second ag beer a few days ago and missed my og by 10pts…so pissed! I was shooting for 1.064 with 5.5g in the fermentor and ended up with 1.054 with 6.25g in the fermentor (had to leave some behind). I thought for this time, I would really follow the mash directions provided and see what happens. It told me to add 28 qts of strike water to my 13.5 lbs of grain…then to sparge (batch) with 3.25 gallons of water. I ended up with 9 gallons of wort prior to boiling, which seemed too much. I am not experienced enough to know that I should have done a 90 min. boil to bring up the gravity. My 15 gal. kettle boils off an astounding 1.8 gallons per hour…so I thought that it could still work out (with loss to shrinkage and trub). I was obviously wrong. I just want to be able to hit my numbers…the water volumes for mash and batch sparging are definitely my problem…I have been doing extract for over a year prior. Do most of you who use beer smith just ignore the mash and sparge directions or am I doing something wrong? I chose the “single infusion, medium body, batch sparge” profile for my mash and have updated my equipment profile to reflect my .5g loss to deadspace in the tun and my ridiculous evaporation rate. Please help, I feel like an idiot…I know this isn’t that hard.

http://onebeer.net/batchspargecalc.shtml

I trust beersmith for the temp of the strike but that’s it water wise.
-using the strike water tool and the correct volumes

well, it looks like you efficiency is about right, the reason you missed you OG is because of the final volume like you said.