Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

How are others hops progressing this year?

I don’t know why, but my hops seem to be early this summer. Just found cones on my Tettnanger plant this morning (see photo). The plants seem to have taken off early. I don’t have many, just one plant each of six varieties, but all seem really robust this year. I’m in the Cleveland area. How are others’ hops going?

Agreed. Mine seem super far along. This is third year for me, so I wasn’t sure if they were just finally mature enough to look this way, or if it really is early. We did have an early, mild spring, so it makes sense to me.

Growing like weeds

I like that!

I’m also in my third year growing hops here in the Buffalo area. I also have the impression they are progressing much faster this year. Nuggets are about 18 feet tall already. Cascades have side bines over 6 inches long already. Tettnang looks as though might start budding any day now. And we haven’t even reached the summer solstice yet! We also had a mild winter here.

I’m not growing hops but here in central New York we had some unusually warm temps early on in the spring. Sure has made my lawn grow to the point where it’s a PIA.

I can’t really find a decent spot on my property to grow some hops. To bad they do grow like weed. No I mean like weeds. :wink:

Thanks for the replies. Sounds like maybe a warm early spring got things going. For me it may also be that my plants are more established (and perhaps I just don’t remember when the first cones appeared last year). I have dated photos this time, so will be able to keep track when comparing in years to come.

I gave a lot of hops away this spring, and there were some of the sucker roots that got dug up and pitched out in the woods. Well, the other day I found them, growing! They are about 5’ long. They just won’t give up!! Sneezles61

Like I said

1 Like