Help with Belgian yeast

I wrote off all Belgian beers long ago. There is a certain flavor many of the ones I tried all had that i cant choke down. On New Years eve I bought a bottle of Chimay white. I was blow away, it was a new realm of flavor. None of the “Belgian flavors” I don’t care for and it was delicious. I see there is a “chimay strain” but I have no experience with brewing Belgian beers. Is it possible to produce a beer like chimay white as a homebrewer? Does any one have any advice?

start by googleing chimay white clone

All of the different Belgian yeast strains available will give you different flavors, of course, ranging from spicy, peppery, clove, banana, apple, pear, bubblegum, Juicy Fruit… you name it. They’re complex. Personally I haven’t been successful making the same beer twice because there are so many variables with temperature control, pitch rate, moon phase, who knows. But they always turn out pretty good.

Theoretically, to duplicate Chimay White cap, you’ll need a Belgian tripel recipe (look for lots of pilsner malt with ~10% simple cane sugar or candi sugar) and the Chimay yeast (WLP500 or Wyeast 1214), pitch in the upper 60s, and allow temperature to rise into the 70s in the second half of fermentation. There is much debate about pitch rates, but from things I’ve read in Brew Like A Monk, it might be best to underpitch slightly. So for 5 gallons, if you would usually pitch 2 liters, try just 1.25 liters or something like that. If you’re already underpitching, then no adjustment is needed.

Cheers and good luck!