Help me with this lager/ale brew

I am going to brew a polish ale, but the kit I am going to use states that it brews at lager temps 58-64 or so using white labs san fran lager yeast. Am I good to go two weeks primary and two weeks secondary and call it good. I have a Johnson temperature control unit for my chest freezer. I am making a starter obviously. Is it the same as any other brew, but just at 58-64 degrees instead of in the closet?

Here is the link to the kit I want to brew

http://www.homebrewing.org/assets/images/AIH%202013%20Recipes/AIH%20Polish%20Ale1.pdf

I have no experience with a beer like this, but SF Lager yeast is typically used for steam beers, and they are fermented at the temperatures recommended by that kit. So yes, just like a regular beer but at that fermentation temperature. Beers that are fermented at lower temperatures do sometimes take longer, so take a gravity reading before you rack it out of primary to make sure you know where the yeast is at. You might want to leave it longer.

Don’t call it “good” after a couple of weeks primary and a couple weeks secondary. Take gravity readings and let the yeast tell you when the beer is done. It might not be convenient, but don’t rush things.

Low temperature fermentations take a lot more time.

Pitch enough yeast and let it primary for three weeks. Better yet, let it go for a month.

Getting it off the yeast quickly isn’t a concern at homebrew volumes. I’ve let lagers go for months without consequence.

Hans
What determines the gravity reading we are looking for to move to the secondary? I understand starting and ending gravity reading but did not realize there was a point to move to secondary.
Just on my fifth brew batch and your comment made me question my procedure.
Thanks in advance for your reply.