Fruit Additions into Belgian Dubbel

Just want to start off and saying hello to everyone on this awesome site. I’m a rookie brewer along with my friends whom I’ve began brewing with since sometime last summer. Love every minute and every bottle of it!

Now down to business. We’ve brewed about 12 different Extract recipes that we’ve bought from NB. In about a week I will be bottling the Belgian Dubbel and I’m really excited to see how it comes out! I have done nothing crazy with this recipe except add dried orange peel two weeks into the secondary. What I’m planning to do is continue to purchase this recipe and experiment with different ingredients; i.e. hops, spices and especially fruit. I have just purchased two recipe kits and they should be coming within the next week.

I want to add spices like nutmeg, coriander, cinnamon, pepper, etc. to one batch (not all of them together!) and then fruit to another. So where do I properly add these? For nutmeg, coriander, and cinnamon during what part of the boil are they added?

For the fruit I’ve been reading a lot of different info from a google search. I don’t want to risk any sort of contamination to the beer so what do I do? I’m looking to add apples, oranges, grapefruit, berries, etc. What is the proper way to add them? Do I just peel them and chop them up and throw them in the freezer or do I boil them for a certain amount of time and add them into the primary with the wort?

Thanks in advance!

OK. You add spices in the end of boil (10 and less minutes usually).