First time stout advice

Hi all, so I’ve never done a stout before. It is one of my favorite styles, but the mrs. Can’t stand em. I have done several black ales before. A few black IIPA and a black lager. But never a stout.

Here’s a recipe I’m thinking about brewing. Any advice or constructive criticism would be appreciated.

8.5 # DME pale
1# American black malt
1# crystal 40
1# chocolate

1.5 oz. Horizon 60 min
1 oz. Centennial 10 min.

Also, what are some tips for fermentation (yeast? Time? Temp?) and aging?

Cheers and thanks.

I don’t see a recipe? for yeast and temps, I’d go with american or english ale yeast in the low to mid 60’s. aging depends on the gravity, a low to medium gravity stout (5-8%) I wouldn’t age. anything above that i like to age for a month+. pushing 10% or more, they really benefit from extended aging from a few months to years. But then again, I’ve made 9% stouts that tasted great after a month in the primary, it depends what you’re looking for and your palate

for yeast, my favorite stouts i’ve made were with wyeast 1056. I’ve also had good results with wyeast 1968 for lower gravity stouts. also had good results with Nottingham. But i think wyeast 1056 was my favorite. I’ve been meaning to get my hands on some Pacman to try that out, I’m sure it would be great

Target OG 1.085 and according to brewers friend FG should be 1.021 with IBU 82

i edited my post earlier and added some stuff.

now that i see your recipe. i would lower the black malt too 8oz or less. I would also recommend some roasted barley, for my taste, up too a lb. and a little less crystal, but that depends on how much crystal you like, ive made great stouts with 1lb crystal, so take that advise with a grain of salt…