First time keg attempt and some questions

I recently received a kegerator (an Edgestar KC1000 series), with a ball lock 5 gallon keg and a 5lb CO2 bottle. I was excited to start brewing with a keg, as I’ve been doing bottles now for a few years, so I brewed up a batch and then put the beer in the keg after secondary, following all the instructions and reading as much as I could online as well.

It was a disaster. I lost the batch entirely. The CO2 would leak out within a few hours, and I could never figure out where the problem was.

So, I resolved to try to solve this issue before putting more beer in there. My question is essentially this: is it a good idea to use water in the keg to try to isolate leaks and ensure a good, solid hookup? What I’d like to do is fill the keg with water, hook the CO2 to it, and then work on isolating any leaks, replacing hoses or o-rings or anything else. That way I don’t lose a batch of beer in the process.

If that doesn’t work, or isn’t recommended, is there another way?

You don’t really have to fill it with any liquid to test for a gas leak. Get a spray bottle with starsan or soapy water and spray all connections while youre hooked up to the gas and they should bubble wherever you have a leak. My corny kegs leak around the fill seal the most until I pull them tightly upward and seat them so to speak every single time I refill the.

A few questions:

How did you carbonate your beer? You say you put the beer in the keg, but then the CO2 leaked out within a few hours. Did you use sugar to carb or were you hoping to force carb your beer? My SOP is to put two fresh kegs into kegerator, set regulator at 30 psi for a day or two, then turn it down to 20 psi for 2-3 days, then set to serving pressure (on my system that’s about 8-9 psi) and pour a sample. Typically at that point I can let it sit at serving pressure until it’s done.