First brew done, problem with bottle carbonation?

Hello, newbie here, got the deluxe kit for Christmas, brewed on Jan. 1st, bottled 2 weeks ago today. Smells great, taste is pretty good, but it just taste pretty flat. There is some carbonation present, just not a whole lot. I was actually worried about over carbonation because the sugar for bottle fermenting was for 5 gallons, and I ended up with only 4 gallons of beer at the end (guess I lost quiet a bit when I racked it). I feel like I followed the instructions so I am not sure if it just needs more time or what.

Of note, out of the 7 bottles that were tried yesterday (not all by me), all were pretty flat except one. This one seemed to be way over carbonated. When the cap was removed the beer volcanoed all over, and even after letting it settle you could not pour it without it turning to straight foam.

Any ideas on what to do now? Or how do I prevent this in the future?

Thanks!!

Sounds like your priming sugar wasn’t mixed in well. It tends to sink to the bottom, leaving the last few bottles getting most of the sugar. Unfortunately they are likely to overcarbonate and shatter the bottles, while the rest will probably be pretty flat. Which yeast did you use for the batch?

There could be a few of things going on either singly or in combination for carbonation problems. I’ll just do a list for a start. You can add some details of your process.

Conditioning time is too short for good carbonation development (Some beer styles will take longer than 8 weeks)
Conditioning temperature is too cool (Around 70°F to 74°F is a good temperature while not being too warm to reduce shelf life.)
Bottle chilling time was too short before sampling (Bottles should be chilled in the refrigerator at least a full day before opening. Two to three days is better.)