Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

First batch questions

Hi all!

I am very new to the brewing world and have just started my first batch of extra pale ale. I followed the directions very closely and came out with an original gravity of 1.056 while the kit mentions an expected OG of 1.045. Will this be ok? Will one Wyeast pack be suffice or should I look into starters? Should I have added more water to lower the SG or just let it be?

After reading quite a few posts about secondary fermentation it sounds like it really isn’t necessary. I have a carboy along with a bucket, which i’m using as my primary. Should I risk the exposure and siphon to the secondary, or just leave it in the bucket longer and start a new brew with the carboy in a couple weeks?

Last question…What exactly does dry hopping do? Will this give the brew a little more bite or bitterness during secondary fermentation? Can you do this when only using the primary fermentation bucket or should you transfer to a secondary carboy?

I know I am probably getting ahead of myself with some of these questions for my first few batches but knowledge is power right?

Any help will be greatly appreciated!

Jerry

Since this is your first batch, I’ll assume you’re brewing with malt extract. After the boil, did you add water to achieve your desired volume?

If so, and assuming you ended with the desired volume of wort (future beer) for the batch size (intended volume of the kit) - the wort and the water were not mixed thoroughly, which gave you a false gravity reading of 1.056. Malt extract has a known amount of sugars, and sugar does not boil off. So if you ended with the intended volume, and used all the malt extract, it’s almost guaranteed that you will hit your original gravity. You just took your gravity reading from a stratified portion of the wort, that was more concentrated with sugars. This will not harm your batch. Once fermentation starts it will mix it thoroughly.