Fermenting and kegging?

HI, I have a few questions on the brewing process. I’m fairly new to brewing so I don’t understand all the specific’s. I started out doing the 1-2-3 week fermenting. After reading some I now keep in the carboy for 1 month. And keg for 3 weeks. They seem the same to me either way I do it.

One question I have. if my fermenting is usually done in one week why can’t I go right to keg? I know the extra time is for clearing aging but will it taste that much different if I kegged after only I week fermenting. One month seems a little long.

The other question I have is on kegging. Normally I leave in keg for 3 weeks. It seems a little flat. 4 weeks is better and 5 weeks seems better yet. What are your thoughts on this. I put 15 to 20 lbs to start for co 2 and after 3 weeks drop to 10 lbs. and use 1 cup of corn sugar.

Although fermentation is done, by the hydrometer readings, the yeast is still metabolizing different byproducts they produced. I would at least keep it in the primary for 2 weeks. It will finish clearing in the keg. But remember, any time you move the keg you will mix up the sediment. If you have extra kegs, you can jumper it from one keg to another to leave behind the sediment.

If you are force carbonation the beer, there is no need for the sugar. Actually, it is a recipe for over carbonating the beer. So either skip the sugar, or put the keg on 30psi for a couple of minutes to purge the O2 and set the lid. Then take it off the gas to let the sugar make the CO2. Keep the keg at room temp then for 3 weeks.

What temp it the keg at?

If it’s at a serving temp, the CO2 from the tank will go into solution better. At 20psi and 40* it should be at a good carbonation level after 3-4 days. You could speed up the process by shaking the keg a couple times a day.

If you are at room temp, 65-70*, 20psi is not going to get you at a good level no mater how long you let it sit.

http://www.kegerators.com/carbonation-table.php