Fermentation Issues

I brewed Caribou Slobber Friday evening and it has not started to ferment, it seems to be doing nothing at all, no bubbling or anything. I realized afterward I forgot to aerate before pitching the yeast. I read through some articles and felt pitching new yeast would be a good solution. I bought new yeast but I am unsure of how to repitch it, do I go through the same process of aerating and then adding the yeast? Is this even the proper solutions to the problem? The temperate of the beer is where it should be so I felt the aeration may be the problem. I have the dry yeast and I am using the glass carboys. I do have a hydrometer but I am new to this and I am unsure of how to use it to help in this situation. :cheers:

Not aerateing will not cause it to not ferment. If that’s the case I would have 2 years worth of brews that would not be fermented. Sometimes it just takes longer to get started and I have had the occasion that I never saw the first bubble in my airlock during the fermentation process. Relax and give it a week or two then check the gravity and you will know if it is fermenting.

When you are using dry yeast it is not necessary to aerate.

Some questions to find a possible problem:
No signs of any type of krausen has formed on the surface of the wort?
What is the yeast you are using and how many grams?
How old was the yeast and how was it stored before pitching?
Did you rehydrate the yeast? If so what temperature was the water you rehydrated with?
What is the original gravity of you beer?
What was the wort temperature when you pitched?
Did you swirl the yeast into the wort?
What is the wort temperature now?

Answers to these question will help immensely.