Fermentation chamber- ducting air from a minifridge?

My ongoing search for an appropriately large and still cheap chest freezer or fridge has been fruitless, so I’m kicking around an idea… let me know any concerns.

Start with a cheap dorm fridge (little ones are very cheap)
Build an insulated enclosure, large enough for one fermentor (I think I’ll only need one at a time).
Run two ducts from the fridge to the box. Maybe through the front door…
Install a fan in or near one of the ducts
Run fridge full time, maybe with jugs of water for thermal mass, and hook up fan to temp controller.

In theory, I should be able to chill, but I don’t know if I can keep up with 5 fermenting gallons of beer (especially if I want to get down to lager temps). I’m no engineer, and kind of a hack, so let me know if I’m off my trolley with this…

So if I’m following you, you want to have the fridge and the fermentor enclosure separate? Using duct work, you’ll carry over the cold air to the box where the carboy is?

That’s what I’m thinking… that way, the small fridge could run constantly, chilling water bottles, storing cold… instead of a small fridge connected to the chamber having to kick on intermittently to cool a big chamber (if I had it all as one unit).

1 Like

Honestly I’m just thinking of a few things not to put down your idea… I think it’s a good one… but,
1:How much is your time worth
2:How much are you going to save when considering the time to build, the cost of materials for the project
3: Additional equipment you will still need even if you were to convert a chest freezer into a fermenting chamber
4:Building a chamber that will hold the cold
5:The possibility that if this didn’t work out so well, that you would have to spend even more money and time building another unit.

I still think the fridge is going to battle to keep the other chamber cold unless it’s super insulated… ASSUMING IM VISUALIZING THIS CORRECTLY.