Fermentation chamber based on big styrofoam box

Hi,

I’m new to this thing (as in, my first ever 2.5G batch is fermenting). However I already have pieced together a temperature logger with liquid and air temperature monitoring using an Arduino, and I might want to actually control temperature in future.

Of course I have looked at the SOF plans and thought about a fridge. However I wonder if I couldn’t just make a compact and efficient solution based on a big enough styrofoam box? I have two ideas:

1. Buy an electrical cooling box like this one: http://www.frankenspalter.ch/epages/Fra … tViaPortal Rip off the lid with the cooling unit. Buy a styrofoam box that fits my fermentation bucket, cut a hole in said box to fit the lid of the cooling box. Insulate with some insulation foam. (Temp control with arduino readouts and a relay or something. I’d figure something out. Given that the cooling unit is 12V I could even control it without a relay if wired right.)

2. Basically a superghetto SOF: buy one big styrofoam box for the fermenter and a smaller one for the ice. Set them on top of each other or besides each other, poke two holes in between and fit the fan in one. Of course the connection would have to be insulated to some degree.

What do you think?

The cooling unit approach would have the added benefit that I can use the cooler bucket in future to make a mash/lauter tun :slight_smile:

The cheapest, most reliable way to control fermentation temperature is to hook up an external controller to an old fridge. You can buy controllers that are pretty much designed for this exact application, and thus keep the temperature exactly where you set it. Most other options will not be as accurate.

The SOF is a good example. It will cool things down, but temperatures could swing quite a bit, and it requires you remember to keep loading ice in it.