Excessive Foam

Here is the situation. I have 4 kegs running all on the same pressure and of nearly the same gravity. One of the 4 is giving excessive foam and there is foam in the line. I can here the foam forming when I pour. It sounds like it is coming from inside the keg. The other 3 kegs make no sound at all when poured. It seems like a restriction in the line somewhere. This is the first use of this keg and I did do a thourough cleaning, including a tube brush.

I’m thinking of just doing a keg transfer and let it set a few days before tapping again.
Any thought or ideas on what might be going on? I should add that I am fairly new to kegging.
(Oh, I love kegs :lol: ).

Thanks,
Mike

Check a different keg on the same line to rule out line problems. Also you might want to check what vol it should be at for the type of beer it is. Beer can foam differently depending what type it is.

Hook the ‘bad’ keg up to a ‘good’ line and see if it still foams. If it does, you’ve isolated the problem to the keg, specifically on the beverage side. Most often this is caused by a hop particle or something that is clogging the dip tube. You can try blowing gas through the tube to clear it, or just remove the dip tube and inspect. Also can be due to a bad o-ring seal, like from a loose post or a knicked o-ring. Check both - under the dip tube and on top of the keg post. Also check that the poppet can move freely and is not clogged.

Less commonly, there can be a crack in the dip tube where it flares out at the top, which will allow CO2 to enter the beverage line and cause foaming.

I think overcarbonation is unlikely unless you have done something different with this batch?