ESB Attempt

Made an ESB with 10# of 2 row and 1# of Crystal Caramel 90. 149 for 45, 158 for 15. Single hppped with Citra: .5 oz @ 60, .5 oz. @ 25, 1.0 oz. @ 5. WLP007. Thoughts?

For what it’s worth its not an realy an ESB. It will be a good but I think you should use Marris otter. Also a less citrusy hops

Thanks! It matched on all the style categories but I was wondering. I bought an Arcadia Thunder Trail to try as an example and definitely not Citra! :man_scientist: What hop(s) fit?

I’m not an expert on bitters I’ve just started working on the style. EKG or fuggles would be a good choice I’ve been using Willamette because I have alot of it. Your not going for hoppy. Mash warmer to get a maltier taste. Another thing I’ve found is they taste much better served around 50 degrees and don’t carbonate it to high. Warm and flat. Not really but alot less than APA

2 Likes

The types of hops I use in this style are fuggle EKG target northdown and challenger. I agree with brew cat about Willamette they also work well. Here is a Great recipe you should try that’s always on tap in summer OG 1.048
FG 1.012
IBU 33
ABV 4.7
9 lbs Maris pale malt or British 2 row
14 oz crystal 75
.53 oz Target hops 60 minutes
.35 oz Challenger hops 15 minutes
.35 oz Northdown hops 15 minutes
Yeast Wyeast 1968
Mash at 149 degrees
Ferment at 68 for two weeks

1 Like

I will also say for an even better experience, put in the keg just as the fermentation slows down and allow to keg condition. I like to lay on their sides and roll them as much as you can to get the yeast back into the brew and, well, it was, and still is a way of enjoying brew called cask conditioned… Bit warmer than I choose, yet, soooo smooth. You may want to serve in a mug, some peeps don’t like a cloudy brew… No added CO2 unless you need to seat the plug… Sneezles61