Easiest way to make Still Apple cider

I’m new to home brewing and was wondering if anyone could put the easiest way to make a still hard cider using store bought organic apple juice. Not a major a fan of carbonation and all the recipes I find elsewhere are vague on instructions or are carbonated ciders. Thanks in advance for any help.

It won’t be carbonated unless you want it to be. Just like beer you can control the level.

It’s quite simple. Pasteurize your cider and pitch two packs of dry yeast for wine. I like cote du blanc and ferment it in mid to high 60s. cote du blanc is a high attenuator so you’ll get a low FG. The local cider I buy is usually about 1.050 OG and cdb takes it to 1.001, 6.5%. Very crisp, clean and clear. I liked it a lot. My wife and daughter liked it with fruit in it. I kegged and carbonated it because we like it that way.

1 Like

Thanks for the info. I’m going to be buying the cider essentials kit on NB for my first batch but after that I’d like to use store bought. About how long is the fermentation process with cote du blanc?

I honestly can’t say…haha…I’m never in a hurry for it and haven’t kept the best notes on the process. Last time I think I pitched it and didn’t check on it for a month.

1 Like

Ill buy apple juice from the big box store… Under 4 bucks a gallon…
Dump it into a sanitized better bottle… 5 gallons of it… I use KV-1116 wine yeast… Room temp… Covered… Yeast don’t want you to watch them… Close to 3 weeks later it’s done…
Sneezles61

2 Likes

I’ll definitely try these methods. Thanks again for the information

You want the easiest way? Go to an orchard buy a gallon of unpasteurized sweet cider. Pour off a small glass full. Throw in a few raisons. Poke a hole in a balloon and wrap it over the opening. The balloon will expand but not inflate. When the balloon goes limp it’s done. If you want it stronger add a cup of brown sugar.

4 Likes