Double Batch

I am getting married in September and would like to brew a large batch for the family to enjoy at our wedding. I have the equipment to brew 10 gallon+ batches but don’t know if combining 2 extract kits would be a good idea. My initial thoughts are that it would take 2 grain bags instead of one, would need to top off in my kettle instead of in carboys, divide evenly between two carboys, and pitch yeast into each individual carboy. Thoughts? Suggestions?

Sorry if this comes across kooky but I’m a novice so please forgive.

You’re on the right track exactly as you described. Congrats!

Hi,

I’m just trying to decipher what exactly you’re trying to do. When you say “double batch”, are you doubling a 5-gallon batch to 10-gallon? I’m assuming so since it sounds like you’re brewing extract with steeping grains. And you’re planning a partial boil, right?

My initial thought is that I’d just brew two different extract kits of the same recipe. One this week, one next week. Keep it simple. It would consume double the time, but is a sure-fire way to make sure you get 10 gallons of the intended recipe.

But if you want to do it all in one brew, then I’d imagine you could double up on everything. Put all the specialty grains from both kits into one grain bag, steep in double the amount of water than normal for 20 minutes or until you reach 170, then double up on all the boil additions at the normal times. And yeah, I agree, after chilling I would top up in the kettle and then split it evenly between two carboys, pitching equal amounts of yeast into both. But I suppose you could also just split the wort evenly between both carboys and then top up to 5 gallons in each…