Dormant Yeast or Epic Failure

Newb question here. I have been homebrewing for several years and stumbled upon Bob Taylor’s Website and decided to try making sake. I doubled his recipe (total of 20 lb rice) and followed everything else to the letter. My rice and koji were sourced from FH Steinbarts who gets their sake supplies from a local sake brewery. My yeast was 2 packs of Wyeast Sake Yeast.

Here is the problem. Everything seemed to be going well until the final addition of rice (10lb). After I added the rice I held the temp at 70* overnight and fermentation was VERY active by the morning. I then transferred it to a temperature controlled freezer (50*) for 3 weeks. I removed the vessel tonight and it hardly appears that any rice has broken down. There is approximately a 3-4 layer of clear fluid (in a 12 gallon fermentation barrel) and the rest of the fermenter is full of rice that appears not to be breaking down. I tried to get a hydrometer reading but there isn’t enough fluid to float the hydrometer.

Did the yeast go dormant or was the last addition of koji bad or did I just screw up.

I tried the search function, but I was having a hard time finding a similar topic.

Thanks in advance for any help or advice.

You really need to do one of two things, Bob:

1 - Take a hydrometer reading.

2 - Taste your sake.

If the specific gravity is significantly above 1.000, or the flavor is very sweet, then you know you’ve got a problem with your yeast. If the flavor is not noticeably sweet and the SG is at or below 1.000, but you can’t detect much alcohol, then you’ve probably got a problem with your koji.

Most likely, however, everything is fine. You’re going to have a noticeable amount of what looks like rice in your moromi at the end of 20 days of fermentation. That’s why the joso step is necessary: to separate your liquid nigorizake from the solid lees.