Dead yeast?

So last week I brewed up a 5-gallon batch of “Holiday Cheer” (Recipe from the Joy of Homebrewing Book) I used a Safale US-05 for my yeast because the guy at the local brew shop recommended it. Being that i’m new to homebrewing I opted to go with his suggestion.
So on brew night i was not able to pitch the yeast until approx 4 hours after the boild was complete.I pitched the yeast when the temp finally got down to 75 deg. After i pictched it i put the carboy with blowoff hose (hose is submurged in a bucket of sanitized water) into a downstairs dark closet and the temp of the closet dropped to 60 deg over night. By lunch time the next day nothing was happening, so i called the local brew shop to see if i killed the yeast pitching at 75 or what. and the guy said warm it up and if that doesn’t fix it come on back and get another bag of yeast and pitch that.
So i put the carboy in a container filled with water with a fish tank heater and attempted to dial the heater in at 70 deg. i left for a few hours to go back to work and when i came home my water temp was at 80 deg, but my yeast was starting to activate. However i readjusted the thermostat on the heater and now for the last 5 days it’s been right on at 70 deg.
So my question is, i’ve been watching the fermentation process the last few days, but i have not seen much action since day 1 or 2, however i can hear a bubble every once in awhile. It hasn’t quite been a week yet and as a rookie homebrewer i’m a little nervous. my plan right now is to wait a full two weeks and then take a hydrometer reading and see where i’m at, If i had to pitch a new bag of yeast at that time my beer would still be alright, right? other than having a crap ton of yeast in it now.

Any suggestions/ideas would be appreciated.