"Cold Crash" test Dummy

So I’m totally new to home brewing and am learning so much on these forums! But I’ve searched and have yet to find out how to, and why to cold crash my brew. I literally know nothing about brewing other than I’ve done my first batch yesterday, which was from an extract and it seems like everybody else knows their stuff here when it comes to cold crashing.

So, with that said, I’m guessing there are other newbs out there afraid to ask the question:

What is the process of cold crashing my brew, and what is the purpose?? Can I do it in the fermentation bucket? It seems the reason is to clarify it before bottling, but are there other benefits and do those outweigh just going straight from fermentation to bottling?

Thanks again for all your help and God bless!
brew_newb

1 Like

Cold crashing is exactly that, to help clarify your beer. But it also smooths things out by getting tannins and Polyphenols to drop out. It especially useful for dry hopping or using other post fermentation additives.

You can do it in your bucket. Be careful with water in your airlock/blowoff as it will create negative pressure and suck air into the fermenter.

2 Likes

Copy that. So there is a benefit. But what’s the process? Do I just stick my bucket in the fridge for a certain amount of time? Or is it a little more scientific than that? Again, I know nothing of the process so if you’ve got a specific process that’s bullet proof, I’d love to glean your wisdom! :slight_smile:

Thanks loopie_beer!

Be careful because if you follow me you will be considered a nut! :smile: I still believe in ‘secondary fermentation.’

But yeah, just stick your fermenter in a cold spot around 32°. Us Americans call it ‘cold storage’ but Germans call it ‘lagering.’ For an ale you just won’t do it near as long. A week is plenty. :wink:

1 Like

So here’s a question then on secondary fermentation,