Calm after the storm (aka blowout)

Hi everybody! I’m new to brewing (third batch and I started on all-grain brewing with an Anvil Foundry) and I’m really catching the bug … I’m starting to get the general idea of how all of this works. With this batch, I really wanted to give my yeast a healthy environment to do their work, so I invested in a heat pad and a controller, since my basement is sitting in the mid-to-low 40s. I also decided to oxygenate my wort with a wand and really took my time rehydrating my yeast before I pitched it …

Well, I think my efforts may have worked too good. I was literally flabbergasted by the fermentation activity last night. I’ve never seen anything like it. I took a video to share with my family, so please excuse the childlike wonder as I gazed upon it in utter astonishment. (I brewed it up Friday evening and into Saturday 1 a.m.ish, and this video was taken Saturday night.)

This morning (Sunday at 9 a.m.) I went down there to marvel at it some more and it blew it’s top. Thank God I had a towel down there and my jacket, as it turned a potentially catastrophic mess into a manageable one. I acted fast and replaced the airlock with a blowoff tube into a bucket of sanitized water, and the activity level was still pretty aggressive until about 10 a.m But now, it’s just bubbling a couple bubbles a minute. Is it normal for such violent fermentation to be followed by a calm amount of bubbling? Or, is there reason for concern?

Another thing we could talk about would be the old jacket I wrapped around my carboy. I wasn’t able to get the temps up past about 62 degrees down there, so I wrapped it up to bring it to 69 (then) but now I have it at 68. For as much as I’ve read, the appropriate temperature is between 68 and 74 for fermentation. But then, I’m reading it might be beneficial to lower it down into the upper 50s during the stationary phase?