Calculating ppm

I haven’t been able to figure out how to calculate ppm when i find a recipe I’m interested in brewing. I usually use distilled water and I like to build my water profile from that when brewing all grain. How would I, for example, calculate 75 ppm of Ca in 7 gallons of distilled water?

Welcome! Well, that’s a huge rabbit hole to go down ifn yer doing it long hand… there are water calculators online that’ll do the work for you…. See, I couldn’t get my pc to talk with those programs, so I followed Palmers “ how to brew” book. Formulas are in there…
Brun’water is a great online one… the author of it used to show up here once in a while.
Tell us about what you brew and such… many great peeps here that are full of knowledge!
Sneezles61

I am a MS chemical engineer with a good knowledge of water chemistry (master in environmental engineering with several water chemistry courses). Even I use the programs as they are easy to use. Here is a link to one

3 Likes

Hey MikeM, when the equation is 50 ppm in a 5 gallon volume… was I understanding that’s 50 ppm to each liter? Not the whole 5 gallons?
Sneezles61

This can be calculated by hand. It’s just a whole lot of work. Better to use a tool like mentioned above, or an Excel spreadsheet. But for anyone interested, I can walk you through the thinking process.

First you need to know that ppm is mg/liter. So for example if there’s 1000 mg in a gram, and 1000 grams of water in a liter, then a liter of water has 1 million mg, which is where the parts per million term comes from.

But we’re not talking about water. We’re talking about calcium… and more specifically, calcium salts, usually calcium chloride (CaCl2) or gypsum (calcium sulfate, CaSO4). But if you add 1 mg CaCl2 or 1 mg gypsum to a liter of water, it’s not all calcium, a good part of it is chloride or sulfate. So… now what? Well, ever heard of a periodic table? Yeah…