C02 Tank

Hi. I’m new to this and I have some basic questions. If I buy a C02 tank, over time, do I just get it refilled or do I exchange it? I used to weld and oxygen tanks (and other gas tanks) were just exchanged at the welding supply dealer and refilled whenever they got to it. You didn’t really own your tank, you paid a deposit on the first one you were given and your deposit was returned whenever you surrendered the last one you were going to use. If I buy a tank and it is refilled on multiple occasions, doesn’t it need to be pressure tested at some point? Also, is the C02 used in brewing a special grade or purity or is it the same as used in industrial applications, fire extinguishers, etc.? Where do you go to get a tank refilled? Thanks.

Craig

If you buy a tank, you own the tank. I get mine filled at a fire extinguisher place. If you don’t want to buy a tank, a lot of home brew stores do exchanges like you mentioned.

I also get my tank filled at the fire extinguisher shops. Yes, you will have to pay for a certification test every few years when you own them.

Recertification in this area cost $16 and needs to be done every 5 years, 5 years will be the same in your area.

I now just exchange my 5 lb tanks at NB my 20 Lb tank I have to take to a supplier to get tested and refilled.

I believe it’s 5 years for an aluminum tank. 10 years for a steel one.

I just swap it for a full one at the welding store.

I do the same thing. The first time I wanted them to fill my shiny new tank. They did, but were cranky about having to do it. The next two times, I just exchanged it. It was faster and I looked over the exchanged tanks and they seemed to be in very good condition.