Brewing with whole hops for the first time

I’m new to brewing and was given a large bag of fresh hops a few weeks ago that I dried out and stored, and then at weekend I brewed with them. It’s my first time with whole hops (third batch ever).

Everything seems to be going OK, OG was bang on 1.050 and is moving along nicely but I have a few questions for the more experienced amongst you:

1. It seems cloudy. I was thinking therefore of doing a secondary and dry-hopping in there - do I transfer the hops that are in the primary too? Assuming not, but can’t find the answer to that anywhere.

2. I read in a couple of places that they should sink to the bottom of the fermenter. They’re currently floating on top - is that normal?

3. No sign of fermentation +72 hours in via the airlock, but the sample I pulled into the test jar shows that it definitely is fermenting. That primary fermenter I’m using had a bubbling airlock for the last two batches I made (with pellets) so it’s a minor point but I’m curious - would using whole hops change the fermentation behaviour in some way (or do I just have a leaky fermenter lid)?

Thanks in advance. The guys at the Northern Brewer place are always very helpful.

Most people strain their wort or siphon it so they don’t have hops in the primary. But if it’s only been 72 hours, I would expect the beer to be cloudy due to fermentation. Which leads to 2), yes they’ll eventually sink, but fermenting wort is in motion, so I would expect them to be floating. I would definitely leave them behind if you use a secondary. And 3), don’t trust the airlock to indicate fermentation, especially if you’re using a bucket. One of my bucket lids never has bubbles.

The biggest difference you’ll find is that whole hops absorb a lot of your beer.

I sparge extra wort to boil when I use whole hops.