Brewing question

I am new to this hobby and wanted to get your opinion. I have not yet brewed my own beer but I have watched a couple people do it.

From what I have learned, after you have steeped your grains, added the hops and boiled your wort, you need to cool it down to 70 degrees to add your yeast when you put it in the fermenting bucket. I know there are a few methods to cool it down such as sticking the kettle in an ice bath or using a wort chiller. Well I’ve got another idea on how to chill it and its probably one that has been shot down before but I wanted to get your opinion.

After you get it down to 70 degrees you transfer the wort to a the fermenting bucket. Well if your wort is 3 gallons then you have to add water to it in order to get the wort up to 5 gallons. I asked someone why you would not just put ice in the wort and they mentioned that it would most likely not be sanitary, which made sense. However, how do you know the water you are adding is sanitary?

I’ve got a heavy duty carbon block water filter that sends purified water to my refrigerator & ice maker so I can have purified water & ice all the time. Its an external filter, not the cheap ones that are built into the refrigerator. Now if it is fine to take that purified water from my filter to bring the wort up from 3 gallons to 5 gallons then why can’t I just add the purified ice to chill my wort to 70 degrees and get it up to 5 gallons?

What’s the difference? Its the exact same water, just in a different form. The carbon block filter I use is from Sears and consumer reports rates it as one of the best you can buy. Here is a link to it.

http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_12605_04234377000P?keyword=4234377&viewType=gal&sLevel=0&prop17=4234377&PDP_REDIRECT=false&s_tnt=39869:4:0

I can’t say whether or not to use ice, but when I used to do partial boils and the ice bath method, I would add cold water to top off. I would get my wort to say 100, then top off with cold water.