Brewery re-locate

I’ve been brewing since 2001. Bought my starter gear from our host. As I jumped up another level, bought more gear from our host, and for many years, all my malt too.
My brewery was located in our laundry room. That room is located on the walk-out side of our home. East facing room…
Water and big clean up sink handy. Used propane and had fans to exhaust the fumes out the window and/or door. Luckily, switched to electric. Very nice. Easier to control. No fumes. The mind set of using gas for any kinda heat, was more of the challenge.
“Using electric just ain’t gonna work”
This past summer, I tore down our small garage and built a little bit bigger, small garage. I’m just starting to wire it. I believe electric cars will become a normal in the future. So I’m putting in a panel with potential. Then… a light flickered…. Why not move my brewery out there?
“You didn’t provide any water supply knucklehead!”
I did put a floor drain in. I have a hose bib with a frostcock installed… I’ll just need to make a potable hose.
The electric side of brewing, really brought me into modern standards, well, from MY point of view… but the potable water side slides me backwards… but at least that isn’t un-obtainable…. Cleaning/washing and sanitizing isn’t too hard to setup… I will miss having a big sink handy tho…

This WAS our garage.
Anyone else re-locate their brewery too?
Sneezles61

1 Like

In summer months my brewery has been our detached garage since I got it in 2007. Too big and too much carbon monoxide for in the house. I drag a drinking water safe hose from the house out there and setup just inside the overhead door. Any waste water, like from the chiller, goes down the sewer vent. Not sure you are supposed to do that but the waste water department has a station down the street so their guys drive by all the time and never said anything.

In winter months it’s back to a kitchen stove :frowning_face:

1 Like