Brewer's uses for home made maple syrup

Hi, This is my first year brewing. Last year a friend of mine taught me how to make maple syrup from sap. It is a big effort with a ratio of 30-40 sap for one gallon of finished syrup. Last year a made some. It has a nice flavor and dark brown color with a faint burnt flavor ( I stepped away from the reducing tary just for a minute). Could I add this to beer (nut ale,stout) or mead? I plan on tapping a few trees this year.
Thanks again,
Bassin75

I tried making a maple porter with some of my syrup last year. The porter came out good but couldn’t taste any maple syrup. I used a quart. Maybe if you used like 20% syrup you might get something. I think the commercial boys kill the yeast and then back sweeten.

In my opinion, maple syrup is so expensive and tasty by itself that it’s wasteful in a beer. You’re probably better off looking for some sort of maple flavoring or extract if you want to add maple flavor to a beer. If I watched someone pour a quart of maple syrup into some wort I would probably cry. In case you haven’t picked this up: I love maple syrup :slight_smile:

When you realize that you have 30 gallons more sap than you can possibly handle with more on the way… use it for brewing water! You can also partially boil it down, no reason to finish it only to dilute it again in water. You can make wine from it as well, if you stop the boil at around 23 Brix. :cheers:

That sounds kinda awesome actually :slight_smile:

I’ll have to try a sample tonight. I made a gallon batch last spring and promptly forgot about it. It’s still sitting in secondary! :shock:

One of the best beers I’ve had this year was made with sap instead of water. It’s called “Grandpa’s got a gun” from O’so brewery. It was a seasonal, sadly, so I can’t find it anymore.