Brett IPA Questions

So this is my first attempt at an all Brett fermentation. The recipe is based off The Mad Fermentationist’s 100% Brett Trois IPA with a few tweaks.

I’ve got a few questions and am open to any and all suggestions:

• How does the recipe look (see below)? I was wondering if I’ve included enough acid malt to help the bugs get this more than funky and somewhat sour. I suppose I can always add some dregs and ferment longer if things aren’t as sour as I’d like when I sample prior to bottling.

• I’m also not entirely sure about my hop schedule / IBUs and how they will meld with the Brett. I’m going for something balanced with a tropical fruitiness from the hops and Brett.

• Mr Malty says I need ~212 billion yeast cells and a 2.67 liter starter if I’m using one vial at ale rates. To get close to the numbers, I was going to do a step up starter - first 1500ml at 1.030 for a week and then into another 1500ml 1.030 for another week all with intermittent shaking. I haven’t done a Brett starter before but from what I can gather, just treat them like an ale yeast. Is this going to get me where I need to be cell count wise?

• Assuming I have a big enough starter and pitch enough cells, I’ve read WLP664 can finish your beer withing two or so weeks. I was planning on having this in a primary for a month and dry hopping the last week before bottling (assuming fermentation is done and FG is steady). With this being Brett, will I need to adjust my priming solution or just prepare it normally (2/3 cup corn sugar boiled in 16oz water)? I’ve read carbonating can take a little longer when using Brett only so I’m fine playing with my priming to avoid bottle bombs.

Thanks for everyone’s help and sorry for the long-winded and somewhat rambling post!

Brett IPA

5 gallon
1.061 Est OG
1.005 Est FG
7.4% Est ABV
53 IBU
5 SRM
0.86 IBU/OG

Fermentables
Light LME - 6.6 lb (72%)
Wheat LME - 1.65 lb (18%)
Acidulated Malt - 0.4 lb (4%)
Carapils Malt - 0.4 lb (4%)

Hops