Bourbon Barrle Porter DME Question

Hey folks!

I had ordered two 1 Gal kits of the Bourbon Barrel Porter, and brewed one of them last night. I had read the directions ahead of time, and I followed them properly. But I noticed one tiny detail that I overlooked. The directions “recommend” using half of the Wheat DME… Okay, I did that… But WHY?

Why not use the whole 1 pound? What would that have affected, had I just dumped the whole bag in?

Again, I followed the directions, and I’m not particularly worried about it - Just curious as to what the difference would have been, and if anyone has tried it. Mind you, I’m a complete novice, as this is the 2nd time I’ve ever brewed! :slight_smile:

Thanks!
-Pete

Your end result would be a sweeter and higher ABV version of the same beer. If you increase the amount of ferementables the yeast will have more sugars to convert to alcohol but since DME isn’t 100% fermentable you would also be left with more residual sweetness. It may be too much for the style and add undesired flavors to your beer.

Crap. It did? I gotta go back and read the instructions…I did not see that :frowning:

[quote=“PDevlin75”]Hey folks!

I had ordered two 1 Gal kits of the Bourbon Barrel Porter, and brewed one of them last night. I had read the directions ahead of time, and I followed them properly. But I noticed one tiny detail that I overlooked. The directions “recommend” using half of the Wheat DME… Okay, I did that… But WHY?

Why not use the whole 1 pound? What would that have affected, had I just dumped the whole bag in?

Again, I followed the directions, and I’m not particularly worried about it - Just curious as to what the difference would have been, and if anyone has tried it. Mind you, I’m a complete novice, as this is the 2nd time I’ve ever brewed! :slight_smile:

Thanks!
-Pete[/quote]