Bottle or keg conditioning and aging in general

New kegger here. As most say, you’ll never turn back after the switch to kegging. And I certainly never will, but I do still have my reservations. So the big thing I liked about bottling was that my beers stay at room temp in a closet and over time just get better and better. I put a sixer in the fridge when I want one, but the rest continue to condition and improve. In the keg, I feel as though once I put it in the kegerator it is done improving. I’m not a fermentation scientist, so I’m looking for advice here. But once it drops to 38 degrees is there really any conditioning or aging that is occuring (with an ale yeast)?

So what can a kegger do to have that same benefit of conditioning time that a bottler has? I’ve started going a few extra weeks in the secondary and then cold crashing and racking to the keg. But then the whole batch is cold, and I go back to my original question: what improvements can I see in the beer once its cold? The great thing with a bottle is that I can try just one, and if its still green, I let the rest sit a couple more weeks. With the keg, I cold crash then carb then try it… if its still green am I just outta luck? Thanks for the thoughts.

I believe that beer improves with cold conditioning and bulk storage to a much greater degree than storing individual bottles at room temperature. There is also a greatly reduced risk of oxidation with cold bulk storage. I have heard that oxidation reactions occur 2 to 3 time faster at room temperature compared to 40 degree refrigeration. It might be a good experiment for you to split a batch half into a keg kept cold and half into bottles stored at room temperature. Then anytime you are going to have a “couple of beers” you could drink one of each over the course of several months and see for yourself which storage method gives you better results.