Black ipa...um, it's brown

My buddy and I recently started brewing. I ordered the Black IPA kit from NB (this being our 4th kit we brewed). followed the recipe for the most part, but I had purchased 1 pound of leaf Cascade hops from hopsdirect.com and decided to add a bit more to the recipe. I added 1 ounce at the beginning of the boil and another ounce at 20 minutes. for some reason this beer is really brown, not black at all. we brewed the Sinistral Warrior IPA a few months back and the color right now is awfully similar…I can’t imagine the extra hops made that big of a difference in the color, but then again we’re pretty new to this.

Any thoughts?

Ya I brewed the black IPA to it has been bubbling for 3 days now. it looks brown as well and I did not change anything about the recipe . I do not think for a second it will effect the taste, as it smells wonderful, but I have a batch of Chocolate stout going to and it is black as night

The hops wouldn’t change the color. “Black” IPA is not necessarily black like a stout, it’s just not pale or red, needs to be at least into the brown range, IMO. It’s not a defined BJCP category either, so for homebrewers it’s an open book at this point.

Yeah. I tasted the wort I had for the hydrometer reading and it tasted like it’s going to be great and the O.G. was spot on, I was just weirded out by the fact that it was really brown.

after fermentation, and all the trub/yeast settle and when the beer clears. the color will be a bit different. i might just look brown now because of the cold break and sediment

Is it their Black IPA kit or is it their Lakefront IBA kit? I only ask because a friend brewed the IBA once and it turned out black and brewed it again and it is brown. Still delicious, but brown. Not sure why.

Seems odd to me because out of all the things you can mess up it seems that color should be pretty easy to nail down when making the distinction between black and brown.