Black IPA flat - no carbonation

This was my 2nd home brew batch I ever made so I am a total newbie…

Just opened a bottle of my Black IPA and no carbonation. It was bottled 12/21 and stored in my basement at about 65 degrees. Is this normal? Does it need more time to carb? I just moved the remainder of the bottles to a warmer room in the house (70 degrees) to see if that helps…

It was primed with a fizz drop before it was capped…

Thanks for any help!!!

A little more detail, how was the fermentation? Length of fermentation? Any thought of capping problems?

Fermentation for 3 weeks before bottling. the cap seemed like it was on. My batch of Caribou Slobber (1st brew) seemed fine to me…

Open a couple more, that one maybe leaked. 65deg should be alright after a month. Havnt used those fizz drops much but I’ve heard people say you should give the bottles a little shake after a week or so. So turn them over and you could try to warm them to 70. Let us know how they turn out.

So I turned them all over. One bottle started leaking. I am hoping that the one I opened yesterday was also loose. I will give it another week before I try another. They are now stored at 70 degrees…

Sounds like a couple may have not been sealed properly. Put one that didn’t leak into the fridge for a couple of hours, and give it a try. I haven’t used the fizz drops either, I use table sugar and the priming calc. here on our host’s site…no problems yet.

Are you possibly re-filling bottles that were made for twist-off caps?

Are you possibly re-filling bottles that were made for twist-off caps?[/quote]

Unless Northern Brewer sent me twist off bottles I don’t think so…

[quote=“zephed666”]
Unless Northern Brewer sent me twist off bottles I don’t think so…[/quote]
Good. Had to ask since twist-offs seal poorly just like you describe. If you got the bottles from NB, they’re correct.

[quote=“JMcK”][quote=“zephed666”]
Unless Northern Brewer sent me twist off bottles I don’t think so…[/quote]