Biere de Garde-knows-what...?

I will apologize up front for being a complete noob. My question is about finding the right temperature for fermenting the BdGKW with the Saflager S-23 dry yeast we used with the kit, but some background will provide valuable info, and perhaps amusement to those more experienced.

My wife, who is into this whole homebrewing thing, ordered us the NB kit for Biere de Garde. Sounded good to me, and I wanted to get a jump on that long ferment, so I started it up this weekend.

Oddity numero uno was that NB sent me 6 lbs of pilsner malt extract liquid plus 4 lbs of DME for the boil (not the 3 pounds DME plus 4 pounds DME that the recipe called for). Being on auto pilot, I used that whole 6 pounds before realizing it was probably a wee bit more than the 3 pounds of DME called for.

So, we had 75 minute boil with 6 lbs pilsner malt extrace liquid, plus 15 more minutes into which I used only 3 pounds more of the DME.

OG turned out to be 1.065, which I think is in the zone.

Anyway, the basement fermentation area is a bit warmer than I expected these days, running about 76 degrees. That seems fine to me for the ales we’ve got down there, but I’m having trouble nailing down the right temp for this BdG.

The instructions give temperature ranges which appear (to me) to be more related to the typical, cooler, temps for using the lager yeasts. But as I understand it, the BdG is to be fermented at warmer temps using lager yeast. I’ve seen posts online with guys going 80 degrees (granted, using different lager yeast) and liking what they got.