BIAB Efficiency

I’m brand new to BIAB and am wondering the best way to figure efficiency. When do I do it? After the boil? After mashing? How do I do it?

I would measure the preboil gravity and volume and do it that way.

Is this right, formula wise: Gallons of Wort Collected times Gravity divided by Malt Pounds?

Gravity points (1.050 = 50 points) times gallons = points collected.

36 points per pound in malt (an average value) times pounds of malt = theoretical points

collected points/theoretical points = efficiency

Example:

10lb of grain gives you 6gal of 1.040 beer.

6x40=240
10x36=360
240/360=67% efficiency

Thanks Lennie. Very helpful.

This depends of if you’re doing a full boil or partial. I was doing BIAB with partial boils and am now up to full boils since I bought a turkey frier with 30qt pot. But I don’t bother with a gravity reading until after my wort is cooled and in the primary. After aerated and just before the yeast is pitched.

Either way (full or partial boil) you need to account for your boil volume if you are taking a reading before boil. If you are boiling only 3 gallons and topping off to 5, your gravity readings will be way off from what you’d want your final 5 gallons of wort to be. It will be much higher. And again, if you’re doing a full boil and starting with 6+gallons, your preboil gravity will be lower that what you’d want your final 5 gallons of wort to be.

Efficiency isn’t affected by the boil volume. I suggested doing it preboil simply because that tells you how the mash went. If you calcualte what goes in the fermentor (brewhouse efficiency) you’re going to include any losses from throwing out trub or things like that. Kind of depends on what you want from your number, I guess I assumed the idea was to check whether the BIAB mash went well. You’ll know from a preboil gravity if you’re going to hit your target OG at the volume you’re after, and you can adjust the boil time to hit your OG if thats important to you.