Best neutral bittering hop

I’m looking to start purchasing my bittering hops in bulk and would like to know what everyone suggests that can be used for styles ranging from AIPAs to belgian tripels to german lagers. Is there a hop that can tackle the bittering in all beer styles or are the subtle differences make one suitable for “most” or “a lot” but not all?

Magnum. I use Magnum for bittering on 90% of my beers. Clean, neutral, and for lower IBU beers you don’t need to use much. I’ve been using the same lb for 2 years. Coming down to the end now, but I fully intent to buy another lb and have it last me another 2 years.

I have occasionally swapped something else for bittering higher IBU beers (Nugget, Calypso, Galena) since I was under the impression you want get much in terms of flavor/aroma, but I often have to let these beers condition longer for some of the harshness to subside. I don’t usually have that issue when using Magnum.

Magnum is about the most neutral bittering hop you can find, but I don’t like it for APA/AIPA. Too smooth and neutral for my tastes.

Unfortunately, most of the hops that fit that bill are pretty low in AAs, so you’d have to use a lot compared to other varieties. The ones that come to mind for me are Saaz, Halltertau, or Tettnang, all of which fall into the 3-5% AA range in general. If you’re looking for the most bang for the buck in terms of AA levels, those are probably not going to cut it, but they all have excellent character. Others here have mentioned Magnum, and I can attest that I’ve use German Magnum hops recently in a pretty good pale ale. With a little research, you can probably find something that will work for you. Actually, I just thought of another one: Sterling. That one’s got an AA level that’s a bit higher than the ones I mentioned, and it’s pretty clean and neutral, from what I hear. That’s about all I can say for now.