Belgian Ale Recipe...tell me what you think

Hey guys, Im new to brewing(two batches under my belt). I have been doing a lot of research into beer recipes and I think im starting to understand what ingredients go together. I love Belgian Ales and wanted to create my own. I just would like to get some feedback on the recipe from you guys. Dont worry, i wont get offended if you tell me it looks like a train wreck, thats the only way im going to learn.Trial and error! So here is what I got put together;

Specialty Grains- Franco-Belges Pilsen Malt steep 30 min

Fermentables: 1lb Briess DME Pilsen 90 min
3.15lbs NB Gold Malt Syrup 30 min
2lbs Clear Belgian Candy sugar

Hops: German Hallertau Leaf Hops 2oz 90min
German Hallertau Leaf Hops 1 oz 60 min
Czech Saaz Leaf Hops 1 oz 15 min

Yeast: White Labs WLP570 Belgian Golden Ale

Maybe I’m missing something but, I’m not sure what the thought is behind the pilsner steep. Pils needs to be mashed.

Ok,thanks, what would be the correct type of grains? How do you know what grains to use. I picked that cause it says its a base.

Ok,thanks, what would be the correct type of grains? How do you know what grains to use. I picked that cause it says its a base.[/quote]

This is a start

http://www.howtobrew.com/section2/chapter12.html

You should by the book if you haven’t yet (How to Brew by John Palmer). It’s the brewing bible for most home brewers.

Long story short… there are 4 types of grain.

1. Those that need to be mashed and are highly enzymatic. Meaning they have enough enzymes to convert themselves and other grains. Your base malts… pilsner, 2-row, pale malt, wheat malt, etc.

2. Those that need to be mashed and have enough enzymes to convert themselves, but not enough to convert other grains in your grist. Vienna, Munich, etc.