Beginners recipe

I just started brewing about 4 months ago and recently got into all-grain . im looking for a really good 3rd batch recipe to share with my dad. He thinks theres no way to top coors light or other commercial beers. I dont want anything really hoppy but i do like a full flavor beer. I need some help !

My biggest crowd-pleaser to date has been my APAPA (Amarillo and Palisade American Pale Ale). Recipe is:

10 lbs 2-row
1 lb carahell

Mash at 152 for 60 min.
Sparge.

1oz Amarillo @ 60 min
1oz Palisade @ 10 min
1oz Amarillo - Dry Hop for the last 7 days
1oz Palisade - Dry Hop for the last 7 days

Ferment with Wyeast 1056

I always do a 1 week primary and a 2 week secondary before bottling/kegging, but you could always just do a 3 week primary and then bottle/keg.

Enjoy.

Is it a real hoppy beer. I just tried a creame ale a buddy of mine made and the hops over powered the beer. He said it was 27ibu.

Wow, if a 27 IBU cream ale was too hoppy, I guess I don’t have any suggestions.

Im not sure he was right but it clawed my throat on the way down and it was as bitter as a green pecan

Im just looking for a beer thats has a great malt flavor and not to hopped up. I just wanna impress my ole man.

If he is a light beer guy I’d suggest a Kolsch to try and win him over. Northern Brewers all-grain kit is great. Otherwise I did one with nothing but Kolsch malt, kolsch yeast and one bittering addition of Spalter hops. This will get you a nice smooth malty beer.

Now now boys, the OP said this was only his third batch and I suspect based on the comments that he is also rather new to craft beer. I remember back when I was in school (yeah, in the 70’s) I thought the pinacle of great taste was a cold Bud. You will find that the more you indulge in this hobby the more your idea of what good beer is will drift (and I think for the better).