Back to Shopping at NorthernBrewer.com

Beer rather cloudy/hazy after 6 weeks in fermenters

I am a novice brewer having a problem. I was due to bottle a IIPA today, but postponed it because the fermentor is still rather hazy/cloudy. It was in the primary for 2 weeks. The beer seemed to be clearing pretty well at that point. I transfered to a secondary. I did first dry hop addition in a sanitized strainer bag about 2 weeks after transfer and removed the bag from my carboy 5 days later. It was such a pain to pull the bag out that the second dry hop addition was poured directly into the fermenter. Five days later I am scheduled to bottle. I put about a teaspoon of biofine clear in two nights ago and the fermenter is still cloudy. I still see small bubbles rising and other sediment floating. Most of the hops dropped, but there is a layer of sludge on top. I used WLP001 and kept my temp at 68F. I have brewed this IIPA before and it cleared nicely before bottling in 6 weeks. The only thing i did differently was pouring hops, unbagged, into the 2ndary. The beer doesn’t smell tainted, but I don’t like the way it looks. I don’t have a place to cold crash. I am making this batch for a friend’s wedding in May so timing is important.

1. Does it sound like something is wrong?
  2. Do I just need more time to let it settle?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

could you get your fermenter in a cooler with some ice? if not you can let it sit until the last minute

I’ve been going through something similar lately, although mine was just hazy. I’m a little concerned for this sludge you described.

If you have another carboy, maybe try and rack it off the sediment and sludge. Taste it and look for any off flavors or sourness. Are you adding some yeast to the bottling? I think biofine strips the yeast out as well.