Banjo Burner - what am I doing wrong?

I bought the ‘low profile’ banjo burner and stand from NB. I love the stand. It’s perfect for a keggle.

I just HATE the burner. I must be doing something wrong.

First thing I noticed is the regulator I got is not like the one in the picture. Its got this dial w/ a + - and you can never tell if its off or not. The dial is a piece of crap in that you can turn it 20 full revolutions vs. a very simple on/off type valve which I’ve had on other burners. Have other people had problems with this style of regulator vs. the one pictured?

I can’t figure out how to get this thing to light on a consistent basis. I’ve been brewing with propane for close to 10 years on low btu burners so I have a good idea how you need to build a little pressure in the line, etc. I can’t find the combination of actions (close regulator, open tank, open regulartor, etc) that gets me a light 90% of the time. It seems to light 10% of the time.

The amount of propane this thing uses is insane. If I do a 10G batch with a 90 minute boil, I’m looking at using 2/3s of a tank of propane. Thats probably $15+ per batch. I would guess my old burners used 1/2 that doing the same job. This seems insanely inefficient.

I can’t use the full amount of propane in the tanks. Not only do I have to worry about the amount of propane but to make sure I have enough propane in the tank to have enough ‘pressure(?)’. So, to brew, I might need 2 full tanks so I can use 1/2 in one then it freezes and 1/2 in the other. The result is a line of tanks 1/3 full that I need to grill with but dont have for brewing.

Sorry for the rant. I’m curious if others have had such a poor experience with this burner and what you did to resolve them. Could I go down to a lower btu regulator?

I have this burner in fact I had 4 of them in total but sold 3 when I reduced my brewing equipment.