Back sweetening confusion

So, I have a basic question guys. If I use a yeast like Lalvin D-47 with a 14% alcohol tolerance
And I do everything right. With a S.G. of 1.105, I should get a finished mead around 13-14% and residual sugar of 25%, and theoretically the yeast has maxed out. So what will happen if I start out
with S.G. of 1.115. Will the yeast stop at around 14% ABV and will I have a sweeter mead without
the probability of exploding bottles? Thanks, I have read that most people seem to like to stabilize and then back sweeten.

Have you been making meads already? Are you trying to make a mead you’ve had elsewhere? I’m really not trying to yuck your yum but this sounds undrinkable to me.

1 Like

I am a major noob, but I have made mead, one time in the past. I just found mead that I made and bottled back in 2008 . Five separate gallon jugs. Walmart clover honey & local store orange blossum.
I used three different yeasts. Lalvin D47, EC 1118 and WLP-001 ale. It was a long time ago and I’m old, so I don’t remember much, but I remember that the yeast took a long time to work. Like a month. I then bottled the stuff in 750 ml bottles with corks. The only way that I know is that I wrote those facts on the bottles. When sediment showed up in bottom of bottles, I siphoned the clear stuff and re-bottled. I always tasted it and it was extremely dry. I didn’t like it so I added honey. Anyway, I forgot about it. I don’t know why it never exploded (after reading some of these forums). So anyway, I just found it and its friggin’ awesome!!! 13 years old. The D47 stuff has a gravity of 1.030, the EC-118 has 1.020, don’t forget, I added honey and the WLP-001 ale yeast is at 1.010 (strange, not as sweet as the others) but they all taste really,really good. I do like it sweet. What’s wrong with my theory, up above? I’m not trying to be a wise guy. I want to make some more with
several ale yeast and the D47 when it get a little cooler. Thanks

1 Like