Any Issue Carbing In Growlers?

I bottle my beer and, therefore, carb in the bottle. I am thinking about throwing some growlers in the mix to cut down on the sheer number of bottles I deal with and to also make it more convenient to transport the beer. One growler is much easier to bring back home than 5 - 6 12 ouncers.

The descriptions of the growler that I have read all say something to the effect of “don’t carb in the growler.”

Two questions:

Can anyone give me some guidance on whether or not you can carb in your average growler (lawyer warnings aside; which I can say because I am a lawyer)?

Regular old priming routine for growlers? Or, is something else needed.

Thank you so much for the asistance. I really appreciate it.

I’ve carbed in growlers, it’s nice since you have a lot fewer bottles to fill that way. It was never an issue for me, but there is a lot more beer/sugar to be consumed with a decent amount less pressure resistance. So just be wary, don’t mess up and stay clean.

I have done it - I worked fine.

I learned more about it, the growlers are not pressure rated for carbonating - they could break.

I do not do it anymore, and would not recommend it.

Just buy a case or two of one liter swing tops from NB, or other source - I generally do a mix of bottles when I don’t keg. Maybe do 4 1 liter bottles, a dozen 22 ouncers, and then some 16 oz. grolsch or regular 12 ounce bottles. Using a few 1 liter bottles, puts a pretty big dent in the bottling process right off the bat.

I learned the hard way just last weekend that carbing in growlers is a gamble.

I had one blow up WEEKS after bottling. It blew glass clear across my basement and made a huge mess.

I have always incorporated a few growlers into my bottling process, but will not be doing it anymore…the 30 minute cleanup and risk of stepping on overlooked, tiny but oh-so-painful-when-you-step-on-them bits of glass make it a no-brainer to eschew the growlers for bottling.