Airlock Issues in Primary Fermentation

I recently started brewing my first batch of cider. I got some unpasturized, unfiltered apple juice from a local orchard, poured it into a 6.5 gallon plastic brewing bucket, added some potassium metabisulfite, waited 24 hours, then added some hydrated Red Star Champagne yeast. I then closed the lid and installed an airlock in the hole in the top. I put the bucket in a dark, cool room and let it sit for about a week and a half, checking the airlock daily for bubbles, but I saw nothing. Absolutely no movement in the airlock. I then measured the SG with a hydrometer and got a reading of 1.000. The original gravity was about 1.060. I am a bit confused as it seems the cider has completely fermented but shouldn’t I have seen bubbles in the airlock? The only thing I can think of is that there was an air leak somewhere and so I didn’t see any bubbles. Should I proceed to racking it into my glass carboy for secondary fermentation or is it screwed? Am I too late? Thanks so much for the help!

Common issue with buckets. Check to see if there is a rubber seal in the lid. Either way you should be just fine.

Must have had an air leak. No worries. Rack it and you’re good to go. Congrats!

Awesome! thanks

Also, I decided to stir it up a bit. How long should I wait before racking to let the lees and sediment settle? Do lees affect the final flavor or are the just removed for clarity?

Too much lees can impact flavor. A small dusting on the bottom is normal and fine. Rack when the lees is pretty compacted and not changing much anymore, probably a couple days.

Do i have to worry about air contamination now as the bucket is not air sealed?

For a short time like a couple of weeks, it should be just fine. If you leave it in there for a period of many months, the odds increase that it might turn to vinegar. So, bottle it soon.

Awesome! Thanks so much for your help. Another question…